You cannae shove your Granny

One of the dubious joys of the new(ish) job is the return to a regular commute by bus. It’s not a long journey and we are well served by a variety of routes and operators in our part of the forest, so one can’t complain too much.  Plus, the enforced hiatus provides an ideal blogging opportunity.

So I thought, dear reader, that I would give you a little look round at my current situation. In particular, I thought I might share the latest helpful notices displayed by First, our bus company d’jour.

Apparently, if I want a bus to pick me up at a stop I should indicate this to the driver by extending my arm. During the journey I am advised to hold on AND watch my step. And when I wish to alight I should press the bell once and remain in my seat until the bus comes to a complete stop. Thank you, Mr/Mrs/Ms FirstBus for those helpful instructions.  Heaven knows how I’ve managed all these years without them.

All of this, of course, is designed to improve my safety and comfort.  Which begs the question – why the Perkins is it all printed on a series of banners so pink I can feel my retinas blistering as I speak?

This entry was posted in Just me, blogging ... and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

