Separation anxiety

It’s hard to believe that it is almost four years since I was regaling you with the tale of a trip to Dundee to see Boy 2 (of 3) settled into his new student flat.  Time (or indeed Percy) flies, and he is now Boy 2 BA (Hons) in Fine Art.  You can see his degree show sculptures here.  How proud am I?

And so he is about to embark on life’s great adventure. But, before he does, he is embarking on an actual great ADVENTURE.  In a little over 24 hours Boy 2 and his Young Lady will be getting on a plane to head east, starting a 10 week trip which will take them to Tokyo, Beijing, Shanghai, Bangkok, Angkor Wat, Phnom Penh, Saigon, Hanoi and Singapore. And all points in between.  They have worked hard, saved hard, and planned the trip carefully.  They are packed and ready to go. And they are, if the Boy is anything to go by, a wee bit anxious about the whole thing.

I, on the other hand, am completely crapping myself.  If you have children of your own you know why.  If you don’t have children …. don’t.  The worry will kill you!  I have bought a couple of second hand croupier rakes from eBay, covered our dining table in maps of Asia and am setting up the whole area to monitor their progress in the kind of Operations Room most often seen in WW2 films about the RAF starring Kenneth Moore.

In reality, it is the the trip of a lifetime and I have no real doubt that they will have a truly wonderful time, but it hasn’t stopped me lying awake the last couple of nights, worrying.  I’ve checked that we have comms links through phone, e-mail, Facetime, Skype, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.  I’ve hugged the daylights out of him.  I’ve given him useful advice (“Don’t get arrested.”).  And I’ve sent him out into the world.

‘Cause that’s what you do when you’re a Dad.

But we don’t have to like it.

This entry was posted in Family matters, Just me, blogging ... and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

