Dizzy (My head is spinning)

It’s been a slightly odd week, health wise.

Last Monday was no problem at all. Normal day and a fun first sing through new music with the glorious SCO Chorus, followed by post-rehearsal toast and a bit of American football when I got home. Watching, not playing. (That last sentence probably didn’t need saying)

Then on Tuesday, up I got and, as is normal amongst people of our age, Mrs WeeKeef greets me with a polite enquiry after my health. Actually, says I, I feel a bit wonky. And so it continued for the next couple of days. All through Tuesday and Wednesday the world was spinning a bit, especially when I moved quickly, but even standing still I had this horrible feeling of wanting to fall forwards. I spent much of the day sitting down (no change there) and googling things like “vertigo” and “labyrinthitis” and “stroke”.

After a couple of days things started to improve, which is good as I know how debilitating a long episode like this can be for people – the Mater, for example, suffered quite badly for weeks. But even now, a week later, my head is still not quite in tune with the rest of me, or indeed the universe in general, and bending over or, more worryingly, standing back up again is no fun.

That’s a nuisance because there is lots to do this week. Much of it will involve driving and I haven’t been behind the wheel for days. So, before setting out into the streets this evening, I had a bit of a scoot down to the shops earlier just to see if my eyes, and all my other bits, are working OK. Well, if it’s good enough for Dominic Cummings, it’s good enough for me.

So far so good. But, if you happen to come across me flat out on the floor somewhere, or if I keel over while we are chatting, just prop me up against a wall out of the way. I’ll be fine in a minute.

This entry was posted in Just me, blogging ... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment