Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy

There I was, enjoying a second cup of Sunday morning tea, pleased that I had got through my first post-Covid week and planning how I was going to tell you all about how that week had in fact been my first Concert Week for over 2 years. Six glorious days singing Mr Handel’s Messiah with the fabulous Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Chorus, and a one-off gig with the splendid Calton Consort. I was, in short, feeling pretty happy and not a little smug.

And then … pain. Not a lot, but a definite twinge in my lower right back. I’ve had it a few times in the past couple of years and sometimes it spreads round my whole abdomen and becomes so awful that I end up vomiting (sorry!). That, in the past, is often the point at which things subside and I put it down to muscle twinges, old age or “just one of those things”.

Not this time. Within 30 minutes I was taking pain killers and throwing up like Mr Creosote (do NOT google this). Long story short: a call to NHS24 got me to the Edinburgh Royal Infirmary, then the Western General and (the following day) back to the Infirmary. By this time it was clear that what I had was gallstones and associated infection. I should have suspected this given that half my family, including the Mater and WeeSis, have had issues in the past. Anyway, I was put on the emergency surgery list and, after a couple of false alarms, was eventually taken to theatre on Friday afternoon, where various people put various things into me and pulled out what was later described by my surgeon as a “very nasty” gallbladder.

And that should have been it, but some post-op reactions and alarms had me back in hospital five days later. In and out in a few hours, though, and now I am home again taking things easy and following doctors’ (and Mrs WeeKeef’s) orders. Hopefully, that will be all for this little adventure.

But I am going to say this. Being British we love to complain about things, including the state of our National Health Service. And, of course, it is not everything it could be. But my experience has always been that when you really need it, it is right there and it is magnificent. In the last fortnight I have encountered many fantastic people – doctors, nurses, support staff, drivers, radiographers, etc, etc. Without exception those people have been kind, caring, professional, engaged, cheerful and just wonderful. They have provided me with accommodation, food, drink, drugs, transport and (mercifully!) a comb. My only real complaint would be that the night staff in DSU were making me laugh too much when I was so sore!

So, this is really to say thank you. To the people I already know who work for our NHS; to those I have encountered in the past two weeks who have taken such good care of me; and to the many, many more who I do not know but who do such an incredible job day after day after day. You are very special and we are very lucky to have you.

This entry was posted in Just me, blogging ... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy

  1. Lesley says:

    So glad you’re on the mend Keith, I certainly won’t be the only one who was worried about you. Such a fright for you and Mrs WK. Totally agree with your thoughts on the NHS; when we need their help they step up to the plate. In fact to as many plates as they need to.
    All the singing will be there waiting for you when you’re up and about again. Just get better please!

Leave a comment